Bearing Fruit

“I am the vine, you are the branches. He who abides in Me, and I in him, bears much fruit; for without Me you can do nothing.  If anyone does not abide in Me, he is cast out as a branch and is withered; and they gather them and throw them into the fire, and they are burned.  If you abide in Me, and My words abide in you, you will ask what you desire, and it shall be done for you. By this My Father is glorified, that you bear much fruit; so you will be My disciples.  John 15:5-8

Michael and I have been working on the study “Experiencing God” for the bible study we are doing with a group of friends.  Our first verse to memorize and study was John 15:5.  This verse spoke to me; as I know Michael has written a few blogs on bearing fruit.  I think it is important to also read further in John where it talks about being broken and thrown into the fire, but by bearing much fruit the Father is glorified.

It frustrates me and aggravates me that there are Christians out there that do not believe in this.  I have heard fellow Christians say that we are not called to bear fruit.  How can there be such blatant disregard for what is written in the Bible.  It also bothers me that there are Christians out there that are doing things for self glory instead of for the glory of God.  If you can not tell my church life is full of frustration.  I am trying to get more involved in my church but keep getting turned away.  This deeply saddens me because I always felt at home at my church, but recently feel more and more like a stranger.

One thought on “Bearing Fruit

  1. I love you babe and I love this blog for two reasons: 1. Because I love the fact you are writing about your thoughts and feelings. 2. Because I agree with what you wrote about. The whole producing fruit (which it seems to me people around us aren’t doing) and to the feeling like a stranger in our own church. I think we both feel like that because we are growing in a separate direction, not to say either one is right or wrong. But with recent events/actions we are being led by personal gains and not gains to claim for Christ. The more we have been growing the more I feel part of the central church the body of Christ. Love you!

Leave a Reply

